In your FREE consultation with the Orange County DUI Attorney Law Firm, you can ask any questions that you have about the DUI process. During these consultations, we get asked various questions. But the most common questions we are asked regard the costs of a DUI. Most individuals we encounter at the initial consultations ask why the DUI process is so expensive. One reason is that Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) has a big presence in California and works with California’s legislature to increase punishments for DUIs in California. The efforts MADD has put in to increase the DUI punishments is aimed to deter DUIs and those efforts have been successful at increasing DUI penalties and fines. The fines DUI defendants face should encourage you to find and hire an experienced lawyer who knows how to handle DUI cases. An experienced attorney can increase the possibility that you will not have to pay the maximum fines, and can even reduce your charges, or even get your charges dismissed.

If you have read other articles on this website, you may noticed how costly a DUI can be. A misdemeanor DUI conviction is usually the most costly misdemeanor in many counties across California. Misdemeanor DUI expenses you may face are:

  • Court fees.
  • Judge mandated fines.
  • Paying restitution to all injury victims or individuals whose property was damaged.
  • Fees from your car being impounded.
  • Drug/alcohol program costs.

Most individuals we encounter during the initial consultation are surprised when we tell them that a regular DUI, where no aggravating factors are present, will cost them close to $15,000. Most of the costs of a DUI will start accumulating instantly after your arrest, and may become overwhelming for most individuals. However, it is important to keep in mind that your DUI costs depend on the circumstances of your DUI, prior criminal or DUI record, and your attorney’s skill and experience.

Where your DUI costs come from

Booking & Fingerprinting

Following your DUI arrest, you will be transported to the police station, where your mug-shot will be taken, you will be finger printed, and other various booking processes will occur. All of these processes will cost the police station money. Sadly, you will be the one who has to pay these fees. The booking and fingerprinting fees will usually cost you approximately $200.

Court Fees

Your DUI case will require the court to expend time and resources that it has to pay for. Instead of the court imposing these fees on taxpayers, the court will require that the party guilty of DUI pay these fees. Thus, if you are convicted of DUI, the court will then require you to pay the court costs that are determined by the local government. A person convicted of DUI can expect the court fees they have to pay to amount to $1,200.

DUI Fines

A DUI conviction may require the individual convicted to pay fines that vary from $400 to $1,000.

Contribution to Victim Fund

The work MADD has done with the California legislature has caused the state of California to create a fund for DUI injury or related harm victims. If you are convicted of DUI, some of the fees you are required to pay will go towards this fund. Remember, even if your DUI did not result in injury to a person or damage any property, you will still be required to make a contribution to the fund. A person convicted of DUI can expect to contribute about $125 to the victim fund.

Towing and Impound Fees

Following your DUI arrest, your car will be impounded and towed by law enforcement. Once again, the police will not pay for this to happen and you will be expected to pay these fees. The area you were arrested in usually determines the towing and impounding fees. These fees are usually around $350.

Increases In Insurance Premiums

After being convicted for DUI, your insurance premiums will increase. The amount your premium will increase depends on your insurance and your previous driving record. A person will most likely pay $10,000 more for car insurance over a 10-year period following a DUI conviction.

DUI Education Programs

As part of your DUI punishment, the court will mandate you participate in an alcohol treatment and/or education program. Participation in the program will most likely be required for at least 3 months, and usually costs around $800.

Should I expect any more fees other than the ones discussed above?

Unfortunately, the fees associated with a DUI conviction are large. In addition to the fees discussed above, you may also be required to pay additional fees, including:

Installation of Ignition Interlock Device

Sometimes, depending on the circumstances of your case, you may have to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in your car. An IID prevents an individual from operating his or her car, unless the individual passes a breath test. If you are required to install an IID in your vehicle, you will also be responsible for the installation and maintenance fees.

Alternative Transportation Fees

A DUI conviction will prevent you from driving for a lengthy amount of time. Without the ability to drive, you will have to find alternative forms of transportation. Alternative transport fees can include money that you spend when using public transportation, taxis, or Uber/Lyft to get where you need to go.

Attorney Fees

If you hire a DUI defense attorney, you will have to pay those fees.

What amount of experience do the attorneys at the Orange County DUI Attorney Law Firm have?

Vincent Ross, the Supervising Attorney and Chief trial Attorney for the Orange County DUI Attorney Law Firm, has 30 years of DUI and criminal defense law experience. Mr. Ross has represented thousands of individuals in various cases that were facing charges of driving on a suspended license, to murder. Mr. Ross has worked on cases that have had an impact on the development of California criminal law. His knowledge of criminal law and profound success in the courtroom have resulted in him being on the New York Times’ front page, as well as being interviewed on shows, such as Dateline and 20-20.

Mr. Ross has mentored every one of our lawyers to have one goal in mind: To diligently defend the rights of each client. The defense team at our firm can dedicate their time and resources to build a well-tailored defense strategy to give you the best chance for a favorable outcome to your case. Our firm has the skill and tools that help set our attorneys apart from other criminal and DUI defense attorneys.

What other areas of law does the Orange County DUI Attorney Law Firm practice?

Our law firm is dedicated to only representing criminal and DUI defendants. We do not practice other areas of law, so that we can devote ourselves to those facing criminal and DUI charges. This allows us to offer the best DUI and criminal defense services available. Our firm has experience in representing defendants facing felony and misdemeanor charges, as well as representing clients in state and federal court.

How does the Orange County DUI Attorney Law Firm choose the cases it takes?

The Orange County DUI Attorney Law Firm provides each potential client with a FREE consultation where the potential client meets with an attorney in person. Our firm values how much of a difference it can make when an attorney takes the time to meet with a potential client and hear about the specifics of the potential client’s case. Following the initial consultation, our attorneys will assess the case thoroughly and come to a conclusion on if we can provide assistance to the potential client. Our firm will not take on a case unless we truly believe the client will benefit from our representation.

What will the Orange County DUI Attorney Law Firm charge me if I choose to hire it?

Potential clients ask us this often. Unfortunately, there is no generic answer, each client’s case is different and it may require different degrees of representation, so our fees vary from case to case. However, our mission is to provide you with the best representation at the best possible price. We can offer our representation on a “flat fee” basis, this means that we will tell you exactly how much you will be paying and will not surprise you with any additional fees later on. The Orange County DUI Attorney Law Firm prides itself on providing representation to our clients at an affordable price.

The attorneys I’ve hired in the past were hard to get ahold of. How available will the attorneys at the Orange County DUI Attorney Law Firm be?

The attorneys at our firm will make themselves available to you at all times. As a client, you will be provided with the personal phone number of the attorney taking on your case. We understand that the DUI process can be stressful and overwhelming, and that you may have questions or concerns about your case. We provide the personal phone number of your attorney so that you can get the answers to the questions you have and that it may help putting your mind at ease by having a constant line of communication with your attorney during this process.

What attorney will handle my case and is it going to be the same attorney who appears at every scheduled court date for me?

Our attorneys will handle your case from start to finish. Our firm will not hand over your case to an “associate,” and we will not hand over your case to another firm for a financial gain. Our law firm will ensure that you personally receive the representation that comes from nearly three decades of experience handling DUI and criminal cases.

Are payment plans available for your services?

As discussed above, every case is unique and we want to be competitive, as well as provide exceptional representation. As previously noted, we provide representation for a flat fee and will tell you the fees upfront to avoid surprising you with additional fees. We do offer a payment plan with no interest for certain cases. To find out more information, contact our law firm.

Why conduct face-to-face consultations, instead of over the phone like other firms?

Prospective clients ask us this question frequently and we recommend that individual’s seeking legal services to be weary about hiring an attorney without first sitting down for an in person consultation with the attorney. You should hire an attorney that you trust entirely and should always meet with an attorney at a business address. We acknowledge that sometimes for out of state clients that may not be feasible but hiring an attorney is an important decision that can carry many benefits or disadvantages for your case in the long run. For this reason, we recommend that an individual hire an attorney or firm that is professional and has a reputation of success.

What can I expect to see in your AVVO reviews?

Our AVVO reviews are evidence that our firm maintains the highest caliber of customer service and recommend you check AVVO for yourself. To check our reviews, log into and search for Vincent R. Ross. You will then be able to see our reviews for yourself.

What additional DUI defenses may be made on my behalf?

Violation of Title 17

When breath and blood tests are taken after a DUI arrest in California, the process in which they are collected, stored and analyzed must be done pursuant to Title 17. If the processes do not comply with Title 17, an argument can be made that the results should not be admitted as evidence.

Unlawful DUI Checkpoint

California also requires that a DUI checkpoint be conducted properly by adhering to certain guidelines. Even if a person found to be intoxicated, if the DUI checkpoint was unlawful, the evidence of your intoxication can be suppressed.

Miranda Rights Were Not Read

If the police interrogate you following a DUI arrest, the law requires them to apprise you of your Miranda Rights. If the police fail to do so, the responses to the police’s questions may be suppressed.

Inaccurate Test Results

There are various reasons that can result in a false positive in a blood or breath test. An attorney can argue that your diet or a health condition was the reason for the false positive result to a blood or breath test, and you were not actually under the influence. Our attorneys know how to challenge the results of a DUI test and what to look for in doing so.

Increasing Blood Alcohol Level

Sometimes, a person’s BAC can be higher at the time the individual takes the test than when the individual was operating his or her motor vehicle. This defense can be asserted if you consumed alcohol and were arrested shortly after.

Insufficient Probable Cause

The police need a reason to pull you over. In pulling you over, the police need to point to an act resulting in a traffic violation. Traffic violations sufficient enough to enable the police to pull you over include: speeding, swerving, or failing to stop at a stop sign. Reasons that are not sufficient to satisfy probable cause to warrant a traffic stop are: driving at night, or driving where there are many bars are located. If your DUI arrest occurs after an unlawful traffic stop, any evidence collected can be suppressed.

Moreover, if the police do not have evidence that you are intoxicated after they pull you over, a DUI test should not be administered. If a DUI test is administered unlawfully, the test results can be suppressed.

If you, or someone you know is facing DUI charges, we recommend you contact an attorney immediately. The sooner you contact our firm the sooner we can begin developing your defense strategy. Allow the experienced attorneys at the Orange County DUI Attorney Law Firm aggressively argue on your behalf in your DUI case.

Call our firm at 949-377-2280, to schedule you FREE DUI consultation